Return to Headlines

MVISD Board President Selected to Leadership TASB Program

Shannon Beasley CASTROVILLE, TX-Medina Valley ISD today announced the selection of Board President Shannon Beasley to the Leadership TASB program Class of 2020. Beasley is the first sitting trustee from MVISD to apply and be accepted to the program which began in 1993. Sue Grigsby who was part of the LTASB inaugural class, participated as a former MVISD trustee.

The program, organized by the Texas Association of School Boards, takes place over a year. Participants are required to attend five sessions which can last from two to three days. The sessions take place at different locations across Texas and are intended to allow participants to network with other successful school board members. 

“I am eager to gain perspective from the vastly different experiences of board members across the state,” said Beasley, “I am equally excited to share this newly gained insight in an effort to enhance our District’s growth mindset which has contributed to the many successes we have enjoyed.” 

The program is selective and requires applicants to have proven leadership ability on their local board as well as within their community. After the yearly application deadline, a committee selects a class of no more than 36 participants. Upon completion, Beasley will join an elite group of just over 900 LTASB Alumni.

The Class of 2020 will begin their first session on September 19 in Dallas, Texas.